

Council Minutes

The minutes of the Council meeting held on Thursday, 28 September 2017 at the Council Chamber, Civic Centre, Poulton-le-Fylde.

Councillors present:

The Mayor, Councillor Alice Collinson and the Deputy Mayor, Councillor Julie Robinson

Councillors Ian Amos, Rita Amos, Emma Anderton, Marge Anderton, Lady Dulcie M Atkins, Howard Ballard, Michael Barrowclough, Lorraine Beavers, Roger Berry, Barry Birch, Colette Birch, Lynne Bowen, Simon Bridge, Sue Catterall, Ian Duffy, Ruth Duffy, Emma Ellison, Ron Greenhough, David Henderson, John Hodgkinson, Graham Holden, John Ibison, Tom Ingham, Andrea Kay, Terry Lees, Paul Moon, Pete Murphy, Phil Orme, Patsy Ormrod, Sue Pimbley, Ron Shewan, Christine Smith, Ann Turner, Shaun Turner, Alan Vincent, Matthew Vincent, Michael Vincent, Lynn Walmsley and Val Wilson

Apologies: Councillors Balmain, Fail, Jones, McKay, B Stephenson and E Stephenson. Cllr Gibson was not present.

Officers present:

Garry Payne, Chief Executive
Marianne Hesketh, Service Director Performance and Innovation
Mark Broadhurst, Service Director Health and Wellbeing
Mark Billington, Service Director People and Places
Emily Wareing, Engagement and Communcations Officer
Roy Saunders, Democratic Services and Scrutiny Manager
Rosie Green, Policy and Engagement Manager

Also present: Aldermen Bannister, Brooks and Mutch, 14 members of the public and one member of the press.

COU37 Councillor Vivien Taylor

A minutes silence was held in memory of Cllr Vivien Taylor.

COU38 Removal of Councillor Gibson as Leader of the Council

The following notice of motion, supported by Councillors I Amos, R Amos, Lady Atkins, Ballard, Balmain, Barrowclough, Berry, B Birch, C Birch, Bowen, Bridge, Catterall, Ellison, Greenhough, Henderson, Hodgkinson, Holden, Ibison, Ingham, Kay, Moon, Murphy, Orme, Ormrod, Pimbley, Robinson, V Taylor, S Turner, A Vincent, Matthew Vincent, Michael Vincent, Walmsley and Wilson, was submitted in accordance with paragraph 14 of the Council Procedure Rules in Part 4.01 of the Constitution:

"That Councillor Peter Gibson be removed from the office of Leader of the Council with immediate effect."

The motion was proposed by Cllr A Vincent and seconded by Cllr Moon.

RESOLVED: (by 31 votes to 0) that Councillor Peter Gibson be removed from the office of Leader of the Council with immediate effect.

COU39 Appointment of an Interim Leader of the Council

The following notice of motion, supported by Councillors I Amos, R Amos, Lady Atkins, Ballard, Balmain, Barrowclough, Berry, B Birch, C Birch, Bowen, Bridge, Catterall, Ellison, Greenhough, Henderson, Hodgkinson, Holden, Ibison, Ingham, Kay, Moon, Murphy, Orme, Ormrod, Pimbley, Robinson, V Taylor, S Turner, Matthew Vincent, Michael Vincent, Walmsley and Wilson, was submitted in accordance with paragraph 14 of the Council Procedure Rules in Part 4.01 of the Constitution:

- 1. "That, if the proposal to remove Cllr Peter Gibson as Leader is approved, Cllr Alan Vincent be appointed as interim Leader of the Council until 7 December 2017 at the latest."
- 2. "That, at the Council meeting on 7 December 2017 (or at an earlier extraordinary meeting of the Council convened for the purpose) a motion be submitted to dissolve the interim arrangement, remove Cllr Alan Vincent from the office of Leader of the Council and to appoint a Leader until the Annual Council meeting after the next election in May 2019."

The motion was proposed by Cllr Henderson and seconded by Cllr Murphy.

Following a debate, the motion was carried (by 31 votes to 8) and it was

RESOLVED:

- 1. "That Cllr Alan Vincent be appointed as interim Leader of the Council until 7 December 2017 at the latest."
- "That, at the Council meeting on 7 December 2017 (or at an earlier extraordinary meeting of the Council convened for the purpose) a motion be submitted to dissolve the interim arrangement, remove Cllr

Alan Vincent from the office of Leader of the Council and to appoint a Leader until the Annual Council meeting after the next election in May 2019."

Cllr A Vincent referred to the incredibly sad and sudden death the previous day of Vivien Taylor. His comments were endorsed by Cllr Beavers.

Cllr Vincent said that he would consider arrangements for the appointment of a replacement Health and Community Engagement Portfolio in due course and inform Council accordingly.

Cllr Vincent confirmed that, in the meantime, the members of his Cabinet would be Councillors Berry, Bowen, Henderson and Murphy, who would each retain their former portfolio holder responsibilities and, that he would himself undertake the responsibilities of the Resources Portfolio Holder. He announced that the Deputy Leader until 7 December 2017 would be Cllr Bowen.

The meeting started at 7.00 pm and finished at 7.28 pm.